• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mold in apartment in GA

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jammin

What is the name of your state? GA

I have a problem with mold in my apartment - its all over my clothing, shoes, on the carpet and behind the bed boards...the apartment was recently made aware and have promised to do something about it. I have 2 very young children and I am also concerned about them.

I would like to know what kind of compensation is reasonable - should they dryclean my clothing (those that require it) or should they be replaced ? I have no experience with these kind of things so I am totally lost and I don't want to regret anything more than I already do.

My lease is coming close to ending and they want to increase my rent by $65 - is that fair considering my problems?

Jammin

Any ideas on how to handle ???

I am pretty desperate as the complex have asked me for an estimate of the damage sto my clothing and other items - but I am not sure how to go about handling the whole issue.

HomeGuru

Jammin said:
I am pretty desperate as the complex have asked me for an estimate of the damage sto my clothing and other items - but I am not sure how to go about handling the whole issue.

**A: start calling your local building and health departments, housing and tenant rights office, HUD, EPA etc. Stop wasting time and git busy.

Anything with the mold on it needs to be replaced, not cleaned.

Where is it coming from? Can you tell?