• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mom's Trust Rental Income After Her Death

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

allanb

California, Good morning. My Mom passed away on 2-18-2022 (96 years old). My sister was the Trustee of all her affairs. I was a Realtor at the time and we sold both residential real estate properties she had. One closed on 6-1-2022 and the other closed on 6-15-2022. The Trust was and still is in effect. 95% of the monetary assets have been distributed to my Sister and me, we were the only beneficiaries. We left $25k in the trust bank account to cover 2022 Federal income taxes-State income taxes and County Supplemental Tax Bill through the closing date of each property The question: is the income from the properties from the date my Mom died to the date that the properties closed Escrow considered part of her Estate and her Estate would pay the State, Federal Taxes on her final tax return or are my Sister and I responsible individually to pay 50/50 on our Income tax forms as rental income for that period or is that income, even though after her death considered part of our inheritance and not subject to any taxes as my Mom's total estate was under $4.5 million dollars? My Sister did pay the Supplemental County Property Taxes from my Mom's trust account, was that a mistake?

Thanks for any insight, Al

Taxing Matters

Overtaxed Member
The trust owned the house and is responsible for the taxes.

EDIT: Or the estate, depending on how they were titled.