• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Municipal trial against city. Parking of "commercial vehicle"

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

viper6383

I am in Kansas.

In a nutshell, I needed some temporary storage until we get a new place to live. I studied our city code book in depth and there are also a couple other places in the city limits where there are semi trailers. So I spent the money to have 2 small ones brought over. Months later, the code lady says my trailers are "commercial" and must be moved. I insisted that per their own code book, commercial vehicles are ones "used to make money" in which mine are not.

For that matter, any vehicle or anything for that matter could be called "commercial" if it is used to make money. A Toyota Camry can be personal or commercial based on use.

In any case, I am just waiting for them to write a formal citation so I can request a trial. All while knowing that this small town judge WILL probably side with the city due to where his paycheck comes from.

I am looking for some advice in how to prepare and handle the trial as well as procedure to file an appeal to take the ruling to district court where I think it will be more fair.

Also open to comments about my situation. I am NOT in a "we care" neighborhood. I have a train track 50 ft from the house and grain bins about 100ft away. I am the only yard with irrigation and fescue.... IMO, the code "bitch" just needs something to do... I have told them I will be moving in 12mo and even offered to build a huge fence, paint them, etc. They just want it their way and I do not think it is fair when I do not think they are playing by their own code book...

Rexlan