• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My company only offers direct deposit to certain employees. Is it legal for them to make that distinction?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

KateH85

I’m located in California.

I would like direct deposit but my request as denied because I’m a 1099 contractor but the other W2 employees do have direct deposit. Is there a law that references if this is or isn’t legal? Please provide the law reference.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
This is legal. It is legal not because a specific law gives them permission to make these distinctions - it is legal because no law says it is illegal.,

FlyingRon

I agree with Stealth, a contractor (1099-paid) is NOT an employee.

The next question is whether you, in fact, should be treated as an employee. If you are working directly for the guy paying you and he exerts sufficient control over you, then you are illegally being classified as a contractor.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl