• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My ex is threatening to sue me for using her photos

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kurt2017

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX

Hi,

I'm a photographer on the side and I did my ex wife's sisters wedding when we were married. I was the official photographer. We have divorced, and I am getting back into photography on the side. I've created a web site and used several of the images from that wedding in my portfolio. She asked me to take them down, I informed her they were my property as the artist. I wanted to ask for advice, she's sent me a cease and desist letter asking me to remove them. i wanted to ask people's advice on this. I don't want to take them down because they are my best wedding photos to date.

Part of me wants to stand and fight for my artistic rights to my work.

Please give any advice, thanks

Last edited:

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney

Hi,

I'm a photographer on the side and I did my ex wife's sisters wedding when we were married. I was the official photographer. We have divorced, and I am getting back into photography on the side. I've created a web site and used several of the images from that wedding in my portfolio. She asked me to take them down, I informed her they were my property as the artist. I wanted to ask for advice, she's sent me a cease and desist letter asking me to remove them. i wanted to ask people's advice on this. I don't want to take them down because they are my best wedding photos to date. Please give any advice, thanks
Did your contract transfer rights for the photos?

Zigner

We didn't have any contract... it was her sister's wedding