• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My Former Employer Will Not Give Me My Last Paycheck

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kidzndogz

What is the name of your state? NJ
I recently quit my job in a local school. I worked as an onsite daycare provider for the teacher's kids. When I cleaned out my stuff, I took everything that belonged to me. This included some children's videos with my name on them as well as a coat rack that was not attached to the wall itself. I had this coat rack custom made because the daycare parents/school refused to buy any shelving whatsoever. A friend of mine made it for me to my customizations. I just received a letter in the mail from one of the daycare parents telling me that the school is holding my last paycheck until I return all of "their stuff". Included is the door key which, of course, I had planned to give back to them when I went to collect my paycheck. The rest of the stuff is mine. How can I get my paycheck without having to give them back my own belongings??? Is this even legal??? These people play dirty. How am I going to make sure that I get my portion of my life insurance and my pension????

Long as you hold key they hold paycheck! You listed items you say belong to you but you only state former employer wants door key! Find out what it is they want and if its yours show them that.

kidzndogz

Ooops, I wasn't clear