• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need answers

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

taytertot

You don't even support yourself yet. You live with your mother. You plan to move in with your boyfriend. Is that because you need to share expenses in order to survive? How are you going to be able to support yourself and your 12 year old sister on your own?
I've been supporting myself for a few years. I've paid my own rent. My own Bill's. But I got into a severe car accident in early 2019 (that is weird to say) and had to move home due to medical conditions

Eekamouse

I've been supporting myself for a few years. I've paid my own rent. My own Bill's. But I got into a severe car accident in early 2019 (that is weird to say) and had to move home due to medical conditions
You paid your portion of the bills but have you done it on your own in your own apartment for any length of time? It's a lot different than paying a couple of hundred bucks to mom each month. Sorry about your car accident. Hope you recovered from it well.

t74

Your sister is not parentless. I think the situation would be different if both parents were dead and you were the only family option, Adding legal challenges to the adaptation to an atypical living situation makes me hope you can find a different way to assist your sister. Perhaps instead of her living with you full time, you could arrange for her to spend weekends and vacations with you thus limiting the time she is at home with your mother while you do not have to assume full responsibility for her.

CdwJava