• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

NEW RENTER-RENT COLLECTION

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R

ROBINRAZ

This is my very first time ever renting, the house that I want to rent has some very unusual terms and I'm not quite sure this is legal. First, he will only accept my rent in cash (yeah right!) or a money order. I do not have any problems with my credit, I shouldn't be considered a high risk renter, but he will not accept my personal check. The landlord also wants me to agree to have the rent on the first, (which isn't a problem) but there is no grace period. He starts to charge me $25 per day beginning the 2nd. I feel like he's setting me up for the fall. Not even three to five days! I have owned my own home in the past, and this is worse than any mortgage company I've ever had! Is this even legal that he request such things? To top it off, he is doing some repairs to the house and wants me to start paying rent when the property isn't even ready. Help, I'm scared to get into this, but it is the house that I really want! I also heard that since he has a security deposit, that he has to have it in an account accruing interest. Is that true? I live in Ohio and I have no idea on the laws regarding this.

HomeGuru