• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

NGRI Plea

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

FedUp47

What is the name of your state? Ohio

I have posted a couple of questions about my son being stabbed last year and the legal proceedings thus far. Yesterday, the defendant entered a plea of not guilty by reason of insanity. Apparently he has been diagnosed paranoid schizophrenic since he has been in prison on an unrelated case. Frankly, I don't buy it. I have known this person for 15 years. I've never seen any signs that he was paranoid, or any signs of schizophrenia. I know, I'm not a doctor. I'm just so angry right now.

Can someone please tell me what to expect next? What happens when an NGRI plea is entered? If he is found to be "insane", does he just walk?

quincy

What is the name of your state? Ohio

I have posted a couple of questions about my son being stabbed last year and the legal proceedings thus far. Yesterday, the defendant entered a plea of not guilty by reason of insanity. Apparently he has been diagnosed paranoid schizophrenic since he has been in prison on an unrelated case. Frankly, I don't buy it. I have known this person for 15 years. I've never seen any signs that he was paranoid, or any signs of schizophrenia. I know, I'm not a doctor. I'm just so angry right now.

Can someone please tell me what to expect next? What happens when an NGRI plea is entered? If he is found to be "insane", does he just walk?
The defendant will be evaluated by mental health experts chosen by the defense and by the state and opinions of the defendant's mental health will be presented.