• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Non-Custodial parent opts to not work

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Xanadu

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Connecticut

So my money-grubbing ex divorces me and marries some guy 20+ years older than her, who owns his own company. He makes good coin, and she's an Accountant by trade capable of making six figures. We went to court, my lawyer and her lawyer had a golf date that morning and they quickly settled for a paltry $75/week in support.

My question is, why can't I use what her paycheck COULD be when calculating her support payment? She's not unemployed because she can't find a job, she even told my son she wasn't going back to work until he turned 18.

Any suggestions? Murder isn't an option, she's wasted enough of my life already.

Silverplum

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Connecticut

So my money-grubbing ex divorces me and marries some guy 20+ years older than her, who owns his own company. He makes good coin, and she's an Accountant by trade capable of making six figures. We went to court, my lawyer and her lawyer had a golf date that morning and they quickly settled for a paltry $75/week in support.

My question is, why can't I use what her paycheck COULD be when calculating her support payment? She's not unemployed because she can't find a job, she even told my son she wasn't going back to work until he turned 18.

Any suggestions? {*edited in honor of Peaceful Zephyr*} ...she's wasted enough of my life already.
Your attitude is spectacularly distasteful. :(