• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Notice to Vacate Property

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Refus Baker

What is the name of your state? Virginia

Hello. I have been renting a small house for the past five years. I have never been late on my rent and I have never violated the terms of my lease. My Landlord dropped off a notice to vacate the rental property at my office on 9/3. The front office staff received the notice and placed it on my desk. I did not get the notice until 9/4. The notice was dated on 9/1 and states I have to vacate the property by 9/30. My rent is due on the 1st of every month.

Did she provide proper notice? The way I read the Code of Virginia, § 55-222, the notice has to be 30 days prior to the rent due date. I received the notice on 9/4.

I have a month to month lease that says she can give me a 30 day notice. But did she establish proof of service by delivering to my office? Do I have proper notice?

To make matters much worse, I have to leave for a conference in two days. My conference is work related and I will not be back for 10 days. There is no way I can meet the vacate deadline of 9/30.

Do I have a positiion of recourse? How do I respond?

Thanks in advance for you advise. -R Baker.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? Virginia