• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

old debt

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Lillyone

What is the name of your state?nj
recently received notice from collection agency stating outstanding debt from 17 yrs ago, I phoned them for info, I have no knowledge of this, this is the first time ever heard of this. I asked if I would be able to get a copy of this purchase and she told me it's been destroyed by now, that they purchased it. She was of no help except to be rude. What do I do? The info she gave me seemed to be mine, i.e. name, social, dob etc. Please any help would be great. I don't know if they're are laws they must go by, or if I just have to pay without verificiation or else. She said it was originally for about 100 and is now over 400.
:( .... thanks

seniorjudge

Lillyone said:
What is the name of your state?nj
recently received notice from collection agency stating outstanding debt from 17 yrs ago, I phoned them for info, I have no knowledge of this, this is the first time ever heard of this. I asked if I would be able to get a copy of this purchase and she told me it's been destroyed by now, that they purchased it. She was of no help except to be rude. What do I do? The info she gave me seemed to be mine, i.e. name, social, dob etc. Please any help would be great. I don't know if they're are laws they must go by, or if I just have to pay without verificiation or else. She said it was originally for about 100 and is now over 400.
:( .... thanks
Obviously, you know by now you should've never talked to these people.

I recommend that you not talk to them from now on.

If you disregard my advice, then here is some info: