• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

OPT expired, how to approach H1-B?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

me369

What is the name of your state? MA

Hi,
my OPT expired on Jan 14. There is an employer who would be willing to sponsor me, and I have a Master's degree. I have no idea how to apporach the filing though, since the employer has no legal help.

Am I allowed to file for H1-B after the OPT has expired?

Thank you.

ImmigAttyLana

Yes, but you will likely have to go abroad for consular processing as it will not be approved as a change of status and once 60 days pass from the expiration of your OPT and the end of your grace period you are here unlawfully and have to depart in any event.
Please let me know if you have any additional questions or if I may be of further assistance to you in this matter.

sua111

OPT Expired, Consular Processing...?

State : CA

Dear Lana,