• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Parking Lot Accident

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

STEPHAN

What is the name of your state? Florida

I was involved in a car accident. I have been in the US for 23 years, and it was my first accident, so I could use some help.

I slowly backed out of a parking spot on a supermarket, and (I believe) I stopped to change gears. At that point a very old lady hit me from behind. She was driving very fast. All damage I could see is the back bumper, but I am not an expert. She hit the area where the hitch mount was behind plasic, so she has a lot more damage to the front. (He car had a lot of damage all over.)

She got out of the car, apologized, and said she did not see us. My wife, who was next to me, heard that, too. The lady only had her registration but nothing else. She was very nervous and searched for about 15 minutes. She offered me to come with her, and I followed her home. She went into the house and never came out again. Her son came out and told me she could not find her papers, but they would file a claim with Progressive. And they did.

My wife stayed at the supermarket and waited for a mother and her 13-year-old son, who witnessed the accident. She got their phone numbers. They have a Tesla, but unfortunately, you only see the before and after of the accident.

I filed a complaint with my insurance company (Allstate), but they said that my deductible is $500, and my premium would go up. They suggested that I try their insurance first.

The supermarket has cameras, but they said that often, you can not see much. They said I needed the police to review the footage.