• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

part-time

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TNAfan

What is the name of your state? Kansas

I have to start out by saying that I am pretty sure I have no legal recourse for the situation I am about to explain. I know that being an "at will" employee...pretty much limits any grievances other than discrimination or harassment, but I would still like some insight into my situation.

I am a college student majoring in mass media with an emphasis on television production. About a year and a half ago I started working for a local tv station as floor director for the local news. I was offered the job as a "part-time" employee... which was fine with me seeing as I am in school. On the other side of that coin though... as a college student I am always in need of money. With that said, every time the opportunity presented itself to work more hours or take someones shift I always stepped up. I quickly earned the reputation of being reliable and always willing to go above and beyond.

Over the course of the past year I have noticed a profitable (but ultimately disturbing) trend. As my fellow part timers have moved on to bigger and better things... the company has opted not to replace them but give me their responsibilities instead. At first this was great... after all.. I could use the extra money. But lately it has gotten completely out of control.

My company offers their full time employees the usual benefits (i.e. insurance, vacation, sick time, ect...). I know there is no law the requires a company to provide such benefits to employees but my company chooses to.