• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Pay Day for whom??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

Aurora957

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Arizona

I work as a waitress at a popular mexican food restraunt. The waitress wage in Arizona is $2.15 / hour. There have been times when I, (and other servers) have received negative paychecks from our employer. They explained due to the amount in tips we made and claimed, our wages of 2.15/hour didn't cover the necessary taxes like state and federal. The pay stub was informing us what we were still owed for taxes. This sounds EXTREMELY weird to me, since when do we pay our employers for a job?!? :-( Does this sound like tax fraud on their part or something still illegal? Where do I go to have this looked into?

tigger22472

I have been a waitress at quite few different places and although they all do things differently I'm not sure this is illegal. Do as suggested and call the labor board but you are required to report a certain percentage of your sales. I believe at least in my state of Indiana you are required to report 10% of your wages. Although I have never received a negative check I have received a check that the amount was 0 and every quarter given a statement from the IRS as to taxes owed. As a waitress it is up to you to make sure it is reported right and that taxes are paid.

JETX

As expected, cbg is absolutely correct. What they are doing (in subtracting money not earned) is improper. Contact your state labor board NOW.

divgradcurl

cbg and JETX are right on, but I just wanted to point out that what tigger22472 mentioned isn't correct.