• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Pen Name??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

author4u

From Alabama..

I am an elementary school teacher. I have recently completed a novel and now in stages of self-publication. My book has a moral message near the end. However, before the end is reached, sexual content is mentioned and some profanity. Question: Should i use a pen name to "protect" my teaching position?

Also, the main character and overall subject of the book are based on actual issues in the school system. Local people in the profession will know exactly who's being addressed in the novel though I have changed names and fictionalized some events to make a good read. Question: Am in the clear of lawsuits?

LdiJ

From Alabama..

I am an elementary school teacher. I have recently completed a novel and now in stages of self-publication. My book has a moral message near the end. However, before the end is reached, sexual content is mentioned and some profanity. Question: Should i use a pen name to "protect" my teaching position?

Also, the main character and overall subject of the book are based on actual issues in the school system. Local people in the profession will know exactly who's being addressed in the novel though I have changed names and fictionalized some events to make a good read. Question: Am in the clear of lawsuits?
A pen name wouldn't be a bad idea at all. I do think however that you might be pushing the envelope if people can easily figure out who your characters are based upon.

quincy

From Alabama..

Using a pen name will not protect you from lawsuits (or from paying taxes on your earnings ;)).