• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Per Diem Issues

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SMB1911

I am a federal contractor currently out of town for work. My company is obligated by federal regulation to pay for lodging and rental car per receipts as well as meals and incidentals at a flat daily rate set by the federal government. The lodging and car go on my corporate credit card which I am supposed to pay after I receive the funds from my company. All of the funds are supposed to come directly to me.

For whatever reason, they continually fall behind in paying me. They then withhold all of my per diem, including the portion for my meals. Normally I would receive it on Friday. They tell me if I pay my corporate card out of pocket by Monday, they'll pay me. Which I refuse to do. They then sit on my money and pay it the next week.

The initial issue was at the very beginning of this trip and it was 5 or 6 weeks before I received a payment. They sent the lump sum including my portion to pay for food. Then it was OK for a month or so and now it's back to the usual mess. This last occurrence was on Friday the 7th of Aug. They owed me for one week in June and 2 weeks in July. They sent it straight to my corporate card again.

I'm not starving and can afford my meals. It's a matter of principal for me. Some of the other employees at my company make considerably less than me and it can have a negative affect on their finances.

Is this practice legitimate? Thank you.

Just Blue