• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Person to person loan

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ms.M

What is the name of your state?
NEVADA
I have been making payments to a family member for a loan for a few years now. They returned two money orders stating the money orders HAVE to be signed, stating the bank refused them.
I send money orders out all the time and have never had a problem. The bank has no issues with this. It's just this person.

I don't sign money orders because of previous identity theft.

My question is this:
What NRS Code, if any, states that if a payment is returned, the debt is considered paid in full?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
The money order is supposed to be signed - it says it right there on the money order. Sign the freaking things and send them back...yeesh!

TigerD

The concept you are seeking is accord and satisfaction. It is not what you think it is.
But feel free to google.

But seriously? Screwing over a family member who help you out? Really?
Don't do it.

Ms.M

The concept you are seeking is accord and satisfaction. It is not what you think it is.
But feel free to google.

But seriously? Screwing over a family member who help you out? Really?
Don't do it.