• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Please help, christmas fund, and bonus money withheld

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Do i have any grounds to take to small claims court?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No way

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Scolabird

I was a car salesman at a Toyota dealership in Florida for the last year. I have recently resigned(2weeks notice) and some pay is being held back. I was hired on full time being paid min. Wage for every hour i worked. As most dealerships do they took back that min.wage for hours worked, after I made enough in sales to cover the amount. According to this logic they never actually paid me the min. Wage, as they always took it back? Because technically i was a commision sales man. Now Question A.) If I truly earned (sold) less than minimum wage the last month I was employed could those last month wages be withheld from Me? Is the employer required by law to pay at least min wage x hours worked?

Part 2 of my dilemma...
The company had an optional Christmas fund that took a % of every car sale I made and put it in an untouchable savings account. The agreement stated that % of money was my money and they would simply match dollar for dollar at the end of the year and pay my amount saved, plus their match back to me at year end as a Christmas "bonus. Well when I resigned i was advised that I forfeited my % saved toward Christmas bonus because I was in the "commission draw" Now I understand not getting their "company match amount" but can they simply keep monoes that i had set aside?