• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Possible Retaliation via Pay Discrimination?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

DavianThule

What is the name of your state? California.

I am a male coach at a college in California and have been a part of the team for 7 years. Everyone's pay is listed online. Pay has ranged from $10-$15/hr over the years for all coaches of all experience levels and degrees. Last year something changed. The head coach of the team hired his female ex-lover at a higher rate than "normal" and my rate went down. I was not told my pay decreased. Despite having the same "Short-term employee" classification that the rest of us had, she not only got paid more but was treated differently.

She was paid for just "talking" about the team. Yet my 3-hour long conversations with the head coach never got me paid. She didn't have to show up on time, didn't have to be in our group chat, didn't have to go to our coaches meetings, didn't have to go to tournaments and a lot more. The director would often leave campus to get her coffee in the middle of class.

This sparked a big investigation and I was called in by the school to explain to them my experience with all of this. This puts me under whistleblower protection and the ex-lover was fired. This year the head-coach doesn't look at me, he looks around me, and doesn't respond to me in our group chat.