• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Posting Personal Information

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

Nickerson

Can an employer post personal information such as home address and home phone number so that this information is freely available to other employees? I am employed in Los Angeles, CA.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate currently awaiting Bar results. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney-client relationship.

No, an employer CAN NEVER post personal information so that it is freely available to other employees. Also, those employees CANNOT then try to contact said individual at their place of residence. Both the employee calling and the company can be liable for intrusion of privacy.

The only way around this is when employees within a department voluntarily leave their phone numbers (like home/cell/pager) as a way to be contacted in case of emergencies.

I know I posted mine in case of emergencies and was contacted for a reason other than that.

hope this helps.

L

lawguy

unless you've an unlisted phone/address, you have no privacy rights in your phone or address. so, companies may post lists of addresses and phone numbers for any legitimate business purpose (to allow employees to trade shifts, etc.) without worrying about any invasion of privacy claim.

and, co-workers can call employees at home, or write them letters, or stop by to visit, or even follow them home without invading their right to privacy.

unfortunately, by studying for the bar, some people get blinded by seeing lawsuits and claims everywhere (look! there goes a chose in action! and over there -- a tort!). get real (get experience).