• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Qualifying for SSDI

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Briang_74

Hello,

I have a question about qualifying for SSDI.

I'm 46 years old and currently working for the federal government in Hawaii, but looking to terminate employment due to my disability. As of June 5, 2020 I'm now classified as legally blind with a visual acuity of 20/200 in both eyes. I've been employed with the federal government since Feb 2019 (1 year and 6 months). Prior to working with the federal government, I was a student using the GI Bill for 6 years after leaving the military in 2012. During those 6 years, I did not receive any work credits, or have any declared income on my taxes. After looking into the SSDI process, I received my Social Security Statement and it says I am not eligible for SSDI based on not having enough credits in the right time period (I'm missing 6 years of work history from 2012 through 2018 while going to school). However, I read on the Social Security website, that certain blind workers only have to meet the duration of work test (which for my age is 6 years), and not the recent work test (24 work credits with in the last 10 years).

My question is, for the duration of work test, does the 6 years I need to qualify go back to my entire work history, or does that 6 years duration fall with a certain time frame (similar to the recent work test)? For example, does my 6 years have to be within the last 10 years? Or will 6 years any where within my entire work history qualify for SSDI?

Please let me know your thoughts on the work duration requirement for blind workers, thank you.

FlyingRon