• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Received Cease & Desist for images using Music Artist - advice needed

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mdrak2011

I thought I had posted this yesterday but it disappeared for some reason :confused:

Long story short, I sell products online that contain designs/artwork/etc. I'm very new to business so I'll admit that I completely misunderstood the law regarding images. For the longest time, I was told that I can use parts of someone elses image as long as it is modified greatly. Recently, I received a cease and desist letter from a music artist's lawyer stating that I didn't have permission to sell my product that contained his picture. They attached the webpage that contained the image. A graphic designer that I found on the internet made the design for me....he basically found an image of the artist, and added a lot of graphics to it.

In the letter, they ask how many units I've sold, how much money in total I received for them, and my source of where I got the item (or if I made the product myself). I responded to them through email letting them know that I removed the item and will no longer offer any similar items. I also mentioned that my images are made from graphic artists that I found online. I didn't answer their other questions regarding my sales, thinking they would be satisfied with me just removing the item from the internet. I was wrong...they responded stating, "We cannot accept your word that you didn't create the images yourself without any proof. We will need to know the number you sold, and all communication between you and the graphic designer including any invoices, money transfers, and emails."