• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Remote worker in NY w/ accidental withholding in GA

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

chiefy

This is kind of complicated, so TIA for any advice:

I work for a company in IRELAND, who hired me f/t last year. They use TriNet for HR/payroll etc. I didn't notice it until I started my taxes this weekend but I have witholding on my W-2 from New York (where I am a f/t resident) and Georgia (where I haven't been in a long time). Apparently the Irish company has a LLP in Georgia so TriNet set my work location as Georgia.

So as I understand it, I should be able to get my Georgia witholdings back, but is it comparable to just file on the W-2 income in Georgia and get a credit for my NYS taxes?

Thanks!

Taxing Matters

Overtaxed Member
So as I understand it, I should be able to get my Georgia witholdings back, but is it comparable to just file on the W-2 income in Georgia and get a credit for my NYS taxes?
Just file a return in Georgia showing no Georgia income and showing the tax withheld on the W-2. I'd attach a brief statement that you did not do any work for the employer in Georgia and the employer improperly withheld tax. It's not difficult to do and is the right way to fix the problem. That will get you all the Georgia withholding back.