• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rental houses; Schedule E to Schedule C or vice versa conversion

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rentals10

I have 9 rental properties, all titled to my LLC. I had been filing a Schedule C for the past several years and just recently turned a 'profit' after all the deductions. As a surprise to me I need to file a Schedule SE and pay about $3,500 in self employment taxes where in prior years, I showed a modest loss.

I titled under the LLC on advice of my estate lawyer, and it is easier to file my tax return. My question is, can I convert them back to my personal name and file a Schedule E for future years to avoid the FICA taxes. And, if so, what basis should I use and how many more years of depreciation after the title transfer? What asinine forms do I need to fill out for the conversion from LLC to my own name?

The accountant/CPA that I had been using passed away and some of the tax people that I have talked to have no clue.

Thanks for any advice.

davew9128

Your CPA advised you to file rental activities on Schedule C all those years? He must have been half dead to have suggested that. There are only VERY limited circumstances where this would have been correct.

rentals10

No, it was my estate lawyer who advised me to do the LLC. In the past years, I showed a paper loss because I had to rehab the places, had lots of expenses, it took some time to get them all rented to decent folks, ....