• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Right to see instrument or obtain other trust info?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

madacebo

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? New York (I am a resident of California)

I and all of my maternal relatives are equal beneficiaries of a trust drawn up in New York, which will be liquidated in 2008. My aunt is also a trustee and the "designated representative" of our branch of the family. 2008 is right around the corner, so I'm interested in finding out more about the trust. I was able to find out the current value of the assets from my grandfather and calculate the current number of beneficiaries (any children born to current beneficiaries between now and then will also be beneficiaries), and that is pretty much all of the information I have.

I believe the institutional trustee was the State Bank of Albany, which would now be... Bank of America?

I wrote my aunt a list of questions about the trust and also asked to see a copy of the instrument. She didn't answer but instead delegated the task of discussing the trust with me to my mother, who is not a trustee and doesn't have any more information than I do. This trust was drawn up decades ago and may have any number of oddball provisions in it, so I really want to see a copy of it before 2008.

Q: Does my aunt have a legal obligation to let me see the trust instrument, answer my questions, or otherwise provide me with information about the trust (e.g. confirm that BoA is in fact the institutional trustee)?

Q: Do I have a right to know what her compensation as a trustee is, and whether or not it's in line with the terms of the trust?