• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Salary question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

Prettywave

What is the name of your state? Ohio

I am a retail manager who is paid by salary. However, I am confused about this matter. I have been with my company for 3 1/2 years, and I am scheduled 45 hours per week. I am required to work the 45 hours a week, but we enter our time as only 40 hours per week for the payroll. And, my paystub only reads for 40 hours AND it goes by my hourly rate. If I work less than 40 and have used all of my vacation, personal or sick time, I am docked those hours. However, my pay does not change if I work the required 45 and the paystub only reads 40. Is this normal? Thank you in advance.

Beth3

The 40 hours thing is undoubtedly just a payroll software "default" and irrelevant.

Two questions:

1. When you work more than 45 hours, do you receive OT?
2. If you miss a partial day due to illness or personal business, is your pay docked?

P

Prettywave

I am not paid overtime if I work more than 45 hours. If all benefit time is used up, then I will be docked those hours. Thank you.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Are you docked for PARTIAL days or FULL days? It makes a very big difference.

P

Prettywave

It would be as many hours missed. I guess that this all sounds normal to me now. However, it just does not make sense to me to be considered an hourly worker if I am on a salary. Thank you all anyway.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Whoa, hold on. No one said this was normal. That's why we were asking the questions.