• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sales commission owed when business is sold

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

graphite

I am not sure if this fits in this forum, because I am a small business owner of a monthly publication supported by advertising. I have an independent contractor who sells ads on commission only. This person sells ads generally that will run over several months, often one year. I have the business for sale and the sales person believes she should receive commission on ad sales for advertisers that continue to advertise after the sale of the business under a long term agreement that she sold. The new owner will most likely not use the sales person when they take over the business. I believe the salesperson is owed something, but then again, she won't be around to manage the account for ad changes and other changes in the account that might come up, which she normally has done in the past. Plus she won't be around if the advertiser doesn't pay or tries to stop advertising, which happens, although rarely. She also knows the business is for sale and feels she doesn't have much incentive to sell contracts that might go beyond the sale of the business.

Does anyone know what my legal responsibilities to the sales person are, and also what advice anyone could give that is fair to her just on general principles of treating her fairly. I am open to all suggestions as to how to handle this, as I have never sold a business before and been confronted with this situation.

Mass_Shyster

The answer depends on any state laws in place, any court decisions by the state court, any agreements in place, and the parties involved.