• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sec Deposit Demand Letter

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mellie2019

What is the name of your state? CA

Ok, here goes. On December 8, 2006 I gave my landlord notice that I would be leaving on Jan. 1 2007. At this time, he stated that he would let me slide on the lack of 30 day notice and late fee for rent if I write a document stating that his repairs to his personal residence were structually sound after a car crashed into it and sign it with my contractor's license. I refused. I was not comfortable with the request because I'm a general contractor not a structual engineer. He is sueing his insurance company over the repairs the he performed.

All that said, I expected him to deduct $200 and prorate the first week of Jan. from my deposit. Wow, was I suprised when I found an envelope with my name on it in my mailbox today containing a statement that he was withholding ALL of my $1,750 deposit.

I have composed the following: Someone please review and let me know if I am on the right track. Complete move-out was 9pm Jan. 6, 2007. He gives no description of the repairs or copies of actual receipts. He claims he is going to do the work. Which means, it won't be done, but he is keeping the money.

"You failed to personally deliver to me or mail my security deposit or statement of deductions within the 21 days allowed by law.
Closet Door ($100 repair fee) in east front bedroom damage was present when I took occupancy. Written notice was given to you on October 1, 2005 along with an itemized list of repairs, maintenance and cleaning I had done to your property since signing the rental agreement on June 8, 2005.