• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Short-term disability?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

anni_96

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Wyoming

If anyone has any eperience or any words of wisdom on this, please fill me in. I am a teacher at an elementary school.

My boyfriend died on April 6, 09. It was very sudden and unexpected, he was only 32. I am unfunctionable at work and I constantly cry. School is not a happy place for me. Morale is at an all-time low and people are just whiny and tattle-tales. I don't want to leave my students, but if I can't function, they aren't getting anything anyways. As it is, all of my reviews and observations have been very good for the time that I've been at that school, 3 years. However, this year I've been "warned" by Human Resources that I have had a large number of absences this year and that isn't a good thing. This is also my tenure year so I'm not sure how that affects the law. Also, I'm afraid if I am observed now, I won't get a very good report and that could be grounds for termination. However, if I take the time off then they can't claim unsatisfactory performance because I won't be there. I don't know what to do. I also worry because I would only get 70% of my salary, which would hurt. I'm not sure what I would do if I had all that time, I would think heal, but who knows. Anyways, I pretty much need to make up my mind by Wednesday.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Last edited:

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl