• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should I report to OSHA?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Nac-Noc

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Sorry. Texas is the state. The issue is that I work in the cleanup/restoration industry. The franchisee I work for has never said anything about the OSHA requirement that we receive the Hepatitis B vaccine and they pay for it. It wasn’t until I went to a corporate training class (after working there for 6 months) that I learned this. I actually asked the trainer about how I’d never known about it and he said he would talk to his bosses about it. Shortly after training an email sent out, supposedly about the requirement. Not sure if it was all franchises or just mine, but I knew it was sent because I could hear him bitching about it and wondering why they would send that them. Well, it’s been a couple more months and still nothing. They actually fired me last week, for “missing two days in a row”. We had a huge surge in jobs and a shortage of people. So in 6 days I worked over 80 hours, on the 6th day I threw up twice at work and was told I’d be given a light route so I can go home early... still worked 8 hours. I sent a message to my manager and called out the next couple days and the third day, I sent a message that said I could use another day but if they needed me I would make it happen. “Ok” was the reply. Well, that same day was also payday. My direct deposit never went through. I sent my manager a message about it and he wouldn’t answer. Phone calls neither. I then messaged my other manager and he found out that I had a paper check and that I was fired. What’s more messed up is they issued paper checks to a couple