• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sick leave not given--but it's in the employee benefit manual

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Indiana Filer

What is the name of your state? INDIANA (I apologize for the length, but I wanted to include as much of the story as I could.)

I work for a public school system as a resource person, working with students in every school in the system. I'm a certified teacher, but the position is classified as support staff since I don't have a classroom of my own. I do make the equivalent of teachers' pay for this position. (The admin has doubled the pay I get in just over a 2 year period because my boss says I deserve to get paid that amount.)

When I was hired for my position 2 1/2 years ago, I asked about and was told that the position does not offer any sick leave or personal days off with pay. I set my own schedule, so if I want or need a day off, I can just take off but it will be without pay. On the paycheck stubs of other employees (teachers and support staff), it states how many leave days they have used, and how many days they have left. My check stub doesn't have anything on it about leave at all.