• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

signing new lease

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kopes

What is the name of your state? MN

I have been renting a house for the past 3 years. For some background, I live in a small college town and 90% of rentals here are by college students. I am a single mother with 2 kids. The landlords, understandably, cater to the college kids. They also charge $800 for a rundown house, because they can get away with it. My lease is good until June 30, 2005. However, my landlord always asks me in January to sign a new lease because if I don't he advertises for new tenants. That seems to be when the college begin looking for new housing for the upcoming year. The house I live in is not in good shape and I would LOVE to move, but never know if I will be able to find anything. I don't like to say no to renewing the lease in Jan. and then not find a place in June. Can the landlord expect me to sign a lease six months before the old one is up, effectively trapping me for 1 1/2 years? I tried putting off the signing this past Jan. and he had people looking at the house 2 days later, so I panicked and signed the damn thing. Had a chance to move to a better place in March, but couldn't because I signed the damn lease trapping me in the house until June 2005. This guy drives me nuts.

HomeGuru

kopes said:
What is the name of your state? MN