• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Slandered by ex-employer in FL

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

Miffed

I was a manager for this company for six years. One of my duties was the selling of excess inventory. After leaving for a new job in an unrelated field, statements were made that I had sold equipment and had accepted "kick-backs" from the companies I had sold to. They have no proof of this because it is untrue. My wife and brother still work at this company, and have heard these statements (obviously to their dismay).
I went to speak to the Director I had reported to while employed there... while waiting to see him, one of his managers came up to me and said "Oh, what's up? You came back because you miss all the kickbacks you were getting?" I just looked at him stunned, and then he added "Oh yeah, don't look at me like you don't know what I'm talking about- you know about those kickbacks". There were several witnesses to this exchange, so it is no longer second-hand heresay.
I worked long and hard for this company, and had a stellar reputation. I was in charge of millions of dollars in inventory and all company security (keys, access codes, etc...), so I needed to (and did) maintain the highest degrees of honesty and trustworthiness. This reputation has now been slandered.
Should I pursue an attorney? Also, isn't the allegation that was made against me be one that would constitute an illegal action on my part? (Possible theft or bribery). I ask that because I know the course of damage recovery relies on either actual monetary damage incurred OR if the slander involves accusations of criminal wrongdoing then a jury or judge would decide the damages.

L

lawrat