• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

small claims filling

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

G

Gary Haskins

What is the name of your state? California
I am an independent contractor who sells frozen food products for a food wholesaler. We sold $8500.00 worth of product to a company in Las Vegas that closed its doors,not bankrupt,just closed down and claimed they had no money to pay creditors. This company was owned by the same person that has a company in Los Angeles,and he refuses to pay the invoice because he says his company is not responsible for his other companies debts. My question is: (1) Is he correct about his liability? (2) I want to sue him in small claims court but I believe the maximum award is $6500.00. My employer does all the billing and receiving. Can we each file a suit for 1/2 the $8500.00 to go around the $6500.00 maximum? I am responsible for 50% of any bad debts even though the invoice is in my employers name. Your help is appreciated.

R

resipsa

Gary Haskins said:
What is the name of your state? California