• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Small claims from OH to KY

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

axinar

I am an Ohio resident. Several months ago I loaned a friend from KY a decent amount of money to buy a used car, primarily so that she would not lose her job.

Being somewhat new to this being a creditor thing, I did not file for a lien on the car because I was unsure if this could produce a potential liability for me if she were to get in an accident or anything of the sort.

We did, however, write up a formal note and had it notarized. She was agreeing to pay on the equivalent basis of a 5 year installment loan @ 6%.

She made two payments but is now refusing to return phone calls.

She owns a house in KY, also still has the car so far as I know, and is currently still employed (in OH).

The amount of the loan is just within the limits of small claims for my county here in Ohio.

However, would I be more likely to be able to obtain a judgment by suing her in her home county in KY?

Thanks!

djohnson

I would think filing in her own state would be the appropriate thing to do. If you do get any kind of judgement you would need to inforce it in that state and from what I understand the purchase took place there.

A

axinar

Okay, this is what I thought ...

Actually the note was signed in Ohio and notarized by an Ohio notary. The note is written with language refering to "Ohio law".

However, from other information I have been able to gather, the fact that she is a Kentucky resident may make it easier to enforce any sort of judgment.

Thanks!

JETX

Sorry, but 'djohnson' is wrong again!!