• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Small question regarding New york suprme court's First department

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeTheBoomer12

New york

Greetings,

My name is Joe and I'm an MBA student in the university of British Colombia in Vancouver, Canada.

One of the courses in our Syllabus regards American Law. In part of the appellants lesson, each one of the students got to analyze an appellant case in different state.

I received an appellant case that focuses on a conflict between business partners at New York city. The appellant is filed to the first department in the New York Supreme Court Appellant Division.

I found a lot of general information regarding the first department, but I'm not quite sure that I fully understand the process that the appeal is going through.

Our professor encourages us to contact Pro Bono assistant or legal forums if we have any questions – so that's why I'm here.

To my understanding, each appeal is reviewed by a forum of 4-5 justices that discussed and decided if the appeal shall be granted.
I couldn't understand if there is only one justice that is in charge of the case and solely handles the appeal material, or all of the justices studying the case independently.
In addition, I found some information regarding judicial law clerks. The information stated that most of the work is done by the justice's clerks, whom give their summary and recommendations of the case to the relevant justice.