• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sued for alleged disparagement of product

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

consultingsued

Ohio.

I'm an engineering consultant and hired to provide advice for a specific industry. 2 weeks ago I received a letter from an attorney representing a company that provides equipment for this industry. They allege that companies I have consulted for have instead selected their competitor's products, and that because their product is superior both in quality and price, the only explanation is that I have slandered their company with malicious advice. Now they are threatening to sue me to stop my supposed disparagement and for damages for all their lost profits and interference with their legitimate business expectations.

What's the case law here? For what it's worth, I have never disparaged their company. I don't want to get involved in costly litigation but I also don't want to stand for nonsense and will fight if I have to.

quincy

Ohio.

I'm an engineering consultant and hired to provide advice for a specific industry. 2 weeks ago I received a letter from an attorney representing a company that provides equipment for this industry. They allege that companies I have consulted for have instead selected their competitor's products, and that because their product is superior both in quality and price, the only explanation is that I have slandered their company with malicious advice. Now they are threatening to sue me to stop my supposed disparagement and for damages for all their lost profits and interference with their legitimate business expectations.