• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Tax Filing questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MCA975

Hello. I am a Florida resident with questions on the best plan for filing 2108 taxes by lowering my adjusted gross Income as efficiently as possible.

I am filing Head of Household with one dependent and my income will be 90k from w2, I have another 120k from a business I sold and I am also getting a K1 with 182k from the business this year. Now this is going to put be at approximately 392k for the year and put me into the 35% tax bracket. While I still have time, what can I do to drop myself into a lower bracket? Any suggestions or anything I can do or purchase to help?

Thanks

Taxing Matters

Overtaxed Member
Hello. I am a Florida resident with questions on the best plan for filing 2108 taxes by lowering my adjusted gross Income as efficiently as possible.
Well, I'm pretty sure I won't be around in 2108, and have no idea what the tax laws will be that year. If you already know your income for that year, you have a great crystal ball. :LOL:

I'll assume though that you mean 2018 instead.

I am filing Head of Household with one dependent and my income will be 90k from w2, I have another 120k from a business I sold and I am also getting a K1 with 182k from the business this year. Now this is going to put be at approximately 392k for the year and put me into the 35% tax bracket. While I still have time, what can I do to drop myself into a lower bracket? Any suggestions or anything I can do or purchase to help?