• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

they offered a job then took it back

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

dez

I work in the very competitive field of radio and I was recently offered a job in California by a radio station. I live in Wisconsin. When we first started talking they said they wouldn't be filling the position for a while. Then they called back two days later to offer me the job. The program director said that he was mistaken and they needed someone as soon as possible and asked if I could start in a couple of weeks. I asked for a couple of days to think about it and then called back to say I'd take it as long as they could provide a relocation package. (this isn't uncommon in radio) He said that they all ready planned on providing me with a hotel room while out there initially to get established. He said they'd work on a U-haul to help me move and that he'd check on providing the plane tix. He called back the next day and said that the owner said yes to the plane tix and that they'd still work on the u-haul and from there we started working out the details. I gave two weeks notice at work and then a few days later he called back to tell me they changed their mind because the owner re-worked the books and they couldn't afford to have me come out there and pay me my first month's salary. Now I'm screwed, my old job is done, I tried to talk to my boss about it but he said they had the paper work in all ready from my notice and they were interviewing for my old position. Radio is very competitive and it's not like I can just go out and get another job tomorrow. This station in California has really screwed up my life! Is there any legal action I can take fo