• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

too much debt

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

pck

What is the name of your state? GEORGIA

I am currently a full time student and working as a waitress. Up until about 2 years ago, my credit was excellent (no past due, rated in the top 10%). Over 2 years, I had some problems with my financial situation that I ended up with about $40,000 credit card debt and car loan. I don't have any families I can turn to, and only making about $600 from the restaurant. Creditors already start calling me, and some of them have turned my files to the attorney. They told me they're going to take 'legal action'. What does that mean? Can they take me to jail? I want to work with them but the amount they require from me usually is way too high, and I have to tell them I can't do it. Should I file bankruptcy? What's the worse can happen? Please give me some advice (other than pay my debt). I can't ask anyone else for a loan. I have noone to turn to.

bigun

Given the facts as you've presented them, I would suggest you schedule an appointment with a bk attorney. Most will give free initial consultations.

Ladynred

First, there is no debtors prison in the United States, it was abolished a couple hunderd years ago !! They cannot take you to jail for any of this.

The 'legal action' they threaten is basically a lawsuit, they can get a judgment against you and garnish your wages, sieze assets (or try to), etc., that's ALL it means.

If you have no assets that they can take, then there isn't a whole lot the can do to you except harrass you and possilby garnish your wages, IF they sue. If they do, then you will know, you would be served papers.