• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Traffic Hearing Officer Acted Like TV's Judge Judy

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rjames

What is the name of your state? Florida

I could not believe what happened at trial. I received a failure to stop at a stop sign ticket a few months ago and decided to not pay the fine, but rather request a hearing. I did so because I was truly innocent. The officer assumed I ran the stop sign because he saw me pause in the middle of the intersection and look to the left, where he was parked. I only did so, not because I had failed to stop, but because I am a driver and my GPS changed the direction for me to turn as soon as I entered the intersection. It had been telling me to proceed straight, but then suddenly indicated a right turn, and then immediately changed to indicate a left turn. The aberrant behavior of the GPS is what made me pause and took each way after entering the intersection. My " trail " was by Zoom. I had prepared for trial. I had discovered prior to trial the stop sign had been moved closer to the intersection after I was ticketed as it had been apparently not been positioned in the correct spot initially. I had two witnesses who were willing to testify that they knew the sign was moved closer to the intersection a week or so after I was ticketed. I also was aware that the police were doing a ticketing operation because I saw one officer who had detained a car a few yards up the road. and I also saw the other officer lying in wait to catch someone run the stop sign. My trial was held by Zoom. I never got to tell the judge my side, in effect, my defense because she started interrupting