• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Training in the US with Dual US/UK citizenship

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Sciencey

I am a dual UK/US citizen who was born in the US but moved to the UK a month after birth. I am a permanent UK resident and pay UK taxes and have never had any connection to the US other than holding a US passport. The company that I work for at the moment is offering me the opportunity to train in the US for a couple of months at a sister site - I will remain a UK employee and be paid a UK salary.

Is this trip possible without too many complications?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
You will need to pay file the appropriate tax returns. Beyond that, since you are a US citizen and hold a US passport, there is nothing to stop you from working in the US just like any other US citizen.

LdiJ

I am a dual UK/US citizen who was born in the US but moved to the UK a month after birth. I am a permanent UK resident and pay UK taxes and have never had any connection to the US other than holding a US passport. The company that I work for at the moment is offering me the opportunity to train in the US for a couple of months at a sister site - I will remain a UK employee and be paid a UK salary.

Is this trip possible without too many complications?