• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

TS/SCI Clearance and Drug Use

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jbillings

I'm a student in College right now and my company wants me to get a security clearance. I've been using marijuana recreationally for the past few months... but stopped immediately after reading the SF86. I don't plan on smoking anymore because I've realized work is much more important. I've also used cocaine on a couple instances, but they were outside the country and wouldn't happen again.

I am willing to be fully honest about all this stuff and tell the investigator that it was all kinda me just being silly at the time... but I feel like that since it's so recent that it's going to be an automatic DQ. After researching on the internet, I don't really see anyone in my position. Mostly just adults who made the same mistakes I did in college (and probably even more, or for a longer period of time) and as long as they admit to that it's usually not an issue and they're cleared.

Biggest issues I have are:
- Recent use
- It's a high level clearance... this is TS that requires a poly

What do you guys think? I'm also not really sure how to tell my Security Officer this... I mean, the last thing I'd want is to lose my job all in all. I know if I submit the forms then obviously they'll be aware. He also indicated to me that whatever is discussed regarding this stuff is just between me and him so I feel OK with it. It's important to note that I don't *need* this clearance necessarily to maintain my job, but I do need it if I want more opportunities and to move up.

Thanks.

jbillings