• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Tuition reimbursement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

cmm72

What is the name of your state? What is the name of your state? AZ
I have quit my job due mainly to a verging on hostile work environment. During the time I worked with the company I earned my Master's in Business Administration.

When I began the program, there was a tuition refund program in place in which you could get reimbursed at the end of each class as long as you got a passing grade. There were no strings attached with this program.

Literally halfway thru my Master's program, the policy was changed. The new policy stated that an employee must continue working for the company for one year from the date of the last disbursement check.

When the policy was changed, employees were notified via email. No contract was written up or signed. The reimbursement form had a name change and a bullet point added stating that if the employee left before the year, that he/she would be expected to pay a pro-rated portion of the monies. No calculation or formula for the pro-ration was given. The new bullet point did not require to be initialled or signed. (Basically the form was the same except for the title and the additional bullet)

My last disbursement check was in February. The workplace has become so miserable that I gave my notice last week. They now expect me to pay the pro-rated difference back, in full or in monthly installments.

Is this legal? Am I legally bound to a policy that was introduced halfway through the Master's program?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks!

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl