• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

UK to USA

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Charmpson

Hi guys,

My partner and I are performers from the UK and we would like to move to America - specifically LA - to pursue work. I don't know if this will have any relevance, but as far as education goes, I have a Master's degree but my partner does not have a degree - however, she does have a National Diploma (equivalent to three A-levels). We were wondering if someone could give us a breakdown on what the process would be and any advice you could give us to assist the process including finding accommodation. From what we have read so far, accommodation is mostly only available to American citizens with a social security number and proof of income. We have heard how strict America is in terms of immigration and how difficult it is to obtain a working Visa or green card as performers.

We have also heard that the process can be simplified significantly by hiring a lawyer, so if anyone has any information on what that may cost and the likelihood of success, that would also be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

FlyingRon

You'd be well advised to get that attorney because, on the basis of what you are saying, I don't think there's a chance that you will be able to do what you want. We don't issue visas for people to move here to look for work.

You're certainly not getting a green card handed out to you. You're not likely to get a visa.

If you come here as a visitor with the intent of finding a way to stay, you will be committing immigration fraud. You will likely be turned around and barred from coming back. If you do manage to get in, you risk deportation and a lifetime bar.