• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Underage drinking - Please, need advise ASAP!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NittanySenior

Junior Member
What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania

Last weekend, I received a citation for underage drinking at a tailgate before a Penn State football game. I was drinking my second beer over the course of 4 hours, and my BAC was almost non existant. I would like to take the course offered in Pennsylvania that allows a juvenile to pay a fine and take a 16 hour course that expunges any record of the citation. However, I was issued another citation last spring of which I was found not guilty and completely acquitted when the officer did not show up for the hearing, but just because it was ever filed I am unable to take the course.

It has been 10 days since the citation and I need to turn it in tomorrow morning. I don't know what to do as I do not want to plead guilty as I will face the consequences of a 2nd citation and immediately lose my license and pay several hundred dollars in fines. I am debating as to whether I should enter a plea of not guilty and go to a hearing, but I'm not sure -

if I enter a plea of not guilty and am found guilty in a hearing, will I face more severe penalties than if I had just entered a plea of guilty in the first place?

Also, if I plead not guilty and argue my case at a hearing, do you think I would have a chance of receiving a reduced or dropped citation based on the following facts:

- I am 3 weeks away from turning 21 years old.
- I was very cooperative with the officer.
- I was entirely sober and drinking my first beer of hours.
- It is arguable that there was not reasonable cause to ask me for ID as I was drinking out of a red cup and not a can, and there were several other underagers drinking at the tailgate who were not asked for ID.
- I cannot afford to lose my license as I drive home on the weekends and drive to work during the week.

Any advice that you could provide ASAP would be tremendously appreciated as I need to turn in my citation tomorrow morning. I am terrified of losing my license and of having this show up on my record when I apply for jobs in the spring. Thanks a ton for your help.
 


BelizeBreeze

Senior Member
NittanySenior said:
What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania

Last weekend, I received a citation for underage drinking at a tailgate before a Penn State football game. I was drinking my second beer over the course of 4 hours, and my BAC was almost non existant.
Irrelevant. You weren't cited for being drunk. You were cityed for underage drinking. Unless you turned 21 seconds before you had the first beer, you are guilty.
I would like to take the course offered in Pennsylvania that allows a juvenile to pay a fine and take a 16 hour course that expunges any record of the citation. However, I was issued another citation last spring of which I was found not guilty and completely acquitted when the officer did not show up for the hearing, but just because it was ever filed I am unable to take the course.
That's up to the judge. By the way, you were NOT found not guilty, the charges were dropped due to the officers not appearing. Big difference.
It has been 10 days since the citation and I need to turn it in tomorrow morning. I don't know what to do as I do not want to plead guilty as I will face the consequences of a 2nd citation and immediately lose my license and pay several hundred dollars in fines.
And you're a senior in college, soon to be in the workforce and couldn't make a simple decision like this? You made the decision to drink when you Knew it was illegal. Now you get to choose another decision.
I am debating as to whether I should enter a plea of not guilty and go to a hearing, but I'm not sure -
And you came here so strangers could tell you what to do?
if I enter a plea of not guilty and am found guilty in a hearing, will I face more severe penalties than if I had just entered a plea of guilty in the first place?
No one can answer that except the judge who will hear the case.
Also, if I plead not guilty and argue my case at a hearing, do you think I would have a chance of receiving a reduced or dropped citation based on the following facts:
See above.
- I am 3 weeks away from turning 21 years old.
Which means you were guilty of underage drinking
- I was very cooperative with the officer.
irrelevant
- I was entirely sober and drinking my first beer of hours.
irrelevant
- It is arguable that there was not reasonable cause to ask me for ID as I was drinking out of a red cup and not a can, and there were several other underagers drinking at the tailgate who were not asked for ID.
then argue that at trial but not asking others for their ID is irrelevant to the charges against YOU.
- I cannot afford to lose my license as I drive home on the weekends and drive to work during the week.
Tough. You decided to drink now you get the punishment for being caught.
Any advice that you could provide ASAP would be tremendously appreciated as I need to turn in my citation tomorrow morning. I am terrified of losing my license and of having this show up on my record when I apply for jobs in the spring. Thanks a ton for your help.
get an attorney.
 

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free, and Confidential
data-ad-format="auto">
Top