• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment Qualification Questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

pixelrogue1

STATE: PA

Hello everyone, few novice UC questions and hope something here might have insight. Let me know if there is a more appropriate location for this type of question.

1099 Contractor
This is my first time as an independent 1099 contractor (who is insured and has been required to pay into UC benefits as part of estimated quarterly tax payments.) Contract has since ended. Am I eligible?

W2 Contractor
Secondly, I was contracting for two companies in the recent past (2017 & 2018) - where I was a W2 employee of those companies. I didn't think to apply for UC Benefits at the time. As a backup, my thinking is that I had built up enough 'working hour credits' from those contracts to qualify if my own 1099 didn't work. Did too much time pass?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
The best way to get an answer to your questions is to apply for unemployment. There is no penalty for being wrong and it costs nothing but a little time. The worst that can happen is that you're denied and if that's the case, you're no worse off than if you never applied in the first place.

pixelrogue1

Yes...yes. Good point.
Good news is that my last W2 actually was in 2018 (a few months worth into the year).

Went to fill it out online, and am presented with a question I'm not sure how to answer.
An entire screen dedicated to "Employer You Separated From" -
Do I use the W2 (which as the beginning of the year), or 1099 which would be recent (and my own company)?

pixelrogue1