• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unfair Withholding of Security Deposit? Need Advice

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kt22

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? California

Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum. I was actually a first-time renter when renting the place 2 years ago.

I recently moved out on July 31st (written 30-day notice was given) and I was supposed to get my deposit back by Aug 21st, but did not. So I called the resident manager saying that 21 days have passed and I didn't get it, she gave me the excuse "it's 21 business days" and I said I know the law.. it's 21 calendar days, so she said she would call the main office for me.

Now I'm dealing with a big property management company that has had a bad reputation such as illegal eviction to increase rent, improper deduction of deposits, not paying relocation fee, etc. They serve university students in the area, which you all know are the easiest target to be taken advantage of.. especially when they deal with a lot international students (like myself).

On Aug 27th the check arrived, but with a $295 deduction. I read on the DCA's website and it stated "What happens if the landlord doesn't deliver or mail a full refund or the required statement of deductions within 21 days as required by law? According to a California Supreme Court ruling, the landlord loses the right to keep any of the security deposit and must return the entire deposit to you."